Great Reads

Online Story Times

Watch story times, songs, book talks and more!

Staff Favorites

Tumblebook Library

Need to Check Accelerated Reading Level? Click on the link below:

AR Book Find

Award Winners

Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award
The annual Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award was established in 1998. Students in grades K-3 read the books and vote for their favorite each April.

Caldecott Medal
This annual award given to the artist of the best American picture book, was established in 1938 and named in honor of English illustrator, Randolph Caldecott [1846-1886].
Charlie May Simon Award
Established in 1971, this annual award is named in honor of a female Arkansas author, Charlie May Fletcher, who wrote under the name Charlie May Simon [1897-1977]. Students in grades 4-6 read the books and vote for their favorite.
Coretta Scott King Award
Established in 1970 and named after the widow of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., this annual award is presented to African-American authors and illustrators.
Geisel Award
Established in 2004, this award is given annually to the author and illustrator of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published that year. It is named after Theodor Suess Geisel, more commonly known as Dr. Seuss.
Newbery Medal
Established in 1922, this award was named after British bookseller John Newbery [1713-1767] and is presented annually to the author of the best book for children.
Pura Belpre Award
Established in 1996, this annual award is named in honor of the first Latina librarian in the New York Public Library and is presented to the Latino/Latina author and illustrator, whose work of literature best represents the Latino culture.